mysteries

i was driving to see a dear friend and her dying husband (another dear friend). i was listening to some beautiful music, when suddenly in the middle of all the dark gray, light gray, and white clouds, heaven just opened up. i couldn't take my eyes off of this hole that got bigger and bigger as the clouds parted in just this one area. and i felt a presence. something holy. mysterious.


then i thought about all those who may say to me, "aren't those just clouds?" well, of course they are. just clouds. the wind is separating them. nothing special. or is it? to me, though, what seemed to be such a typical, scientific, weather-related event, and a coincidence that i looked up at just the right moment, i knew that was something more. i knew in my soul i was experiencing a holy mystery. and i was feeling the divine all around me. you see, i believe that the divine is found in everything. everything is sacred. holy. the question is, do we just see things as they are, or are we willing to look deeper? to feel what we see?


when i arrived at the hospital, i got into the elevator. the doors opened on the fifth floor, and as soon as they did, there was my friend standing face to face with me. we embraced and held each other tightly. my love then hugged her. and i hugged her sister. the four of us stood there and chatted a little. but, chatting with my friend is always deep. she talked of her husband, who just keeps holding on right now, and remarked that it is such a holy mystery.


i guess we are all a little nervous with that which seems to be a mystery. we want to know things. but, what if we can know in a different way? couldn't everything we experience be a mystery? couldn't God's love simply be made known to us in these mysterious ways? like knowing someone loves you unconditionally? or seeing a a tree turn colors in the fall? or the peace and pain of watching someone die?


i continued on to see my dying friend. i went in alone. stood by his bedside, and talked to him. i put my hand on his shoulder, prayed some, and read to him that even in the valley of the shadow of death, we are not alone. i was reminded again that "my cup runs over". it is a mystery. to stand there. to feel love. give love. and share that quiet, simple, holy moment with another.


and now, i am overwhelmed. it's all a mystery. faith. love. clouds. death. life. but, i am so thankful for the moments that remind me to live. to breathe. to believe.

pic from here

comments

comment on the post here:

name:
remember me?

e-mail address: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog address:

comment:

Trackback