hug a tree

the conversation that started my day at school...

student: ms. mcguire, did you carpool or walk to school this morning?
me: no... (thinking this was an odd question). it's waaaaay too far for me to walk and no one lives near me. i live in waynesville.
student: well, i just thought, since you are a hippie (hihi!) and today's earth day, you would've done something to help the environment today. haha.
me: crap. you got me! well, i did wear green and blue to celebrate the earth!

pictures drawn today by students at tcr (the high school where i work)

yep. today's earth day. a great day to hug a tree, soak up the sun (unless you are in sweden where it was snowing. so sorry.), decide to recycle, work for peace, or listen to music... as i was driving home, i had my iPod on shuffle and a song perfect for earth day started to play. i immediately had memories of last summer and the day that i found out that michael jackson had died. my love and i got off a plane at the airport in copenhagen, waited for our bag (a completely different, crazy story for another time), and saw the headlines in the newspaper stating that mj had died. it was a shocking moment. so, to celebrate and honor the king of pop, my love and i listened to this song as we rode on the train. we realized how powerful the song is. and i re-discovered a new, old favorite.

you know, the earth is sacred. beautiful. and meant to be a place of peace.
we must care for it... and for each other.


comments

comment on the post here:

name:
remember me?

e-mail address: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog address:

comment:

Trackback